Other sites

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Home > Activities > Research > ecoSERVICES > Governance


© Olivier Gargominy

Scientific Committee

ecoSERVICES is governed by a Scientific Committee (SC-ecoSERVICES) whose members are nominated by the DIVERSITAS Scientific Committee (SC-DIVERSITAS) for a 3-year period renewable once. The SC-ecoSERVICES meets annually; it decides upon policy priorities to address, and discusses current and future research development.

In November 2013, the SC-DIVERSITAS appointed the SC-ecoSERVICES for the period Jan 2014-Dec 2016. Special tasks in the early mandate of this SC-ecoSERVICES is to accompany ecoSERVICES in its early steps in Future Earth and prepare the scientific strategy for ecoSERVICES research phase 2.


Appointed Members

Alpina Begossi

Universidade Santa Cecília, Brazil

Elena Bennett, Co-Chair

McGill University, Canada

Wolfgang Cramer, Co-Chair

Institut Méditerranéen de Biodiversité et d'Ecologie marine et continentale (IMBE), France

Georgina Cundill

Rhodes University, South Africa

Sandra Lavorel

The National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS), France

Louis Lebel

Chiang Mai University, Thailand

Berta Martin Lopez

Autonomous University of Madrid, Spain

Jeanne Nel

Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), South Africa

Unai Pascual

Basque Centre for Climate Change (BC3), Spain

Natalia Perez Harguindeguy

Universidad Nacional de Córdoba, Argentina

Martin Solan

University of Southampton, UK

Petra Tschakert

The Pennsylvania State University, USA

Peter Verburg (ex officio member for GLP)

VU University Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Ernesto Viglizzo

Instituto Nacional de Tecnología Agropecuaria (INTA), Argentina

Guy Woodward

Imperial College London, UK


Past Members

  • Erwin H. Bulte (Co-Chair), Tilburg University, The Netherlands
  • Peter Burkill, Southampton Oceanography Centre, United Kingdom
  • Graciela Canziani, Universidad Nacional del Centro, Argentina
  • Jed Fuhrman, University of Southern California, USA
  • Andy Hector (Co-Chair), University of Zurich, Switzerland
  • Fabian Jaksic, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile, Chile
  • Zenichiro Kawabata, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Shahid Naeem (Co-Chair), Columbia University, USA
  • Charles Perrings (Co-Chair), Arizona State University, USA
  • Daniel Rondeau, University of Victoria, Canada
  • David Tilman, University of Minnesota, USA
  • John Tschirhart, University of Wyoming, USA
  • Wolfgang Weisser, Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena, Germany
  • Anastasios Xepapadeas, University of Crete, Greece


International Project Office

The International Project Office (IPO) acts as a support for activities within ecoSERVICES, such as engaging the international scientific and policy community, and coordinates activities such as workshops and communications.

During the first implementation phase of ecoSERVICES, the IPO was located at the School of Life Sciences of Arizona State University, and chaired by Prof Charles Perrings, thanks to a grant from the US National Science Foundation (NSF; Grant No. 0639252). Since 2012, the DIVERSITAS Secretariat has been performing the role of ecoSERVICES IPO.


Science Officer

Karine Payet-Lebourges

Institut Méditerranéen de Biodiversité et d’Ecologie (IMBE)

Aix-Marseille Université, CNRS, IRD, Univ. Avignon,
Technopôle Arbois-Méditerranée
Bât. Villemin – BP 80, F-13545 Aix-en-Provence cedex 04

Tel. +33 4 4290 8449

Document Actions
Personal tools