Other sites

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation


© shutterstock Nadezhda V. Kulagina


Past Members of the Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee of bioSUSTAINABILITY (SC-bioSUSTAINABILITY) used to meet annually and decided upon policy and future research. The SC-bioSUSTAINABILITY was nominated by the DIVERSITAS Scientific Committee and its activities were supported by an international project office (IPO).

2014 is marked by the fusion of DIVERSITAS and the transition of its projects into Future Earth. For bioSUSTAINABILITY, this meant its merging with another core project of DIVERSITAS, i.e. ecoSERVICES, to transition into Future Earth as one single project. ecoSERVICES will address in an integrated manner issues related to the governance and management of ecosystem services and the overall science of biodiversity, ecosystem functioning, ecosystem services and human well-being.

bioSUSTAINABILITY functioned thanks to the active involvement of its former science officer (Maria Schewenius, Stockholm Resilience Center) and the support of its past SC members, namely:

  • Francisco Alpizar, Environment and Development Center for Central America, Costa Rica
  • Kanchan Chopra, University of Delhi, India
  • Robert Deacon, University of California Santa Barbara, USA
  • Thomas Elmqvist (Chair), Stockholm University, Sweden
  • Christo Fabricius, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, South Africa
  • Rashid Hassan, University of Pretoria, South Africa
  • Fabian M. Jaksic, Catholic University of Chile Santiago, Chile
  • Ronald Mitchell, University of Oregon, USA
  • Alfred A. Oteng Yeboah, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research, Ghana
  • Stephen Polasky, co-Chair, University of Minnesota, USA
  • Hugh Possingham, University of Queensland, Australia
  • Seema Purushothaman, Azim Premji University, India
  • David Raffaelli, University of York, UK
  • Belinda Reyers, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), South Africa
  • Kerrie Wilson, University of Queensland, Australia


International Project Office

The IPO acted as a support for activities within bioSUSTAINABILITY, such as engaging the international scientific and policy community, and coordinates activities such as workshops and communications.

The IPO was hosted at the Stockholm Resilience Centre at Stockholm University, Stockholm, Sweden until the end of 2013.


Past Science Officer

Maria Schewenius, Stockholm Resilience Center


For information, contact

Maria Schewenius, Stockholm Resilience Center, Department of System Ecology, Stockholm University

Thomas Elmqvist, Stockholm University, Sweden

or the ecoSERVICES Science Officer: Karine Payet-Lebourges

Document Actions
Personal tools