Other sites

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Home > About DIVERSITAS > Governance > Scientific Committee

Scientific Committee

© Jeremy Richards

DIVERSITAS activities are guided by the programme Scientific Committee (SC-DIVERSITAS), which comprises leading scientists from around the globe, representing a broad range of natural and social disciplines. With expertise spanning a broad range of particular areas within biodiversity and ecosystem services science, the SC-DIVERSITAS defines, develops and prioritises plans for the Programme, guides its implementation, and publicises its results at relevant scientific and policy events and fora. It also liaises and facilitates cooperation with other relevant international programmes related to global environmental change.

The SC-DIVERSITAS comprises 12 members, serving a three-year term, renewable once. SC-DIVERSITAS Members are selected based on their standing in the international scientific community and their commitment to the programmatic advancement and mission of DIVERSITAS, with due consideration to regional, gender and disciplinary balance. SC-DIVERSITAS Members are formally appointed by the Institutionnal Sponsors of DIVERSITAS. The Chair, Vice-Chairs and Treasurer of the SC-DIVERSITAS form the Executive Committee. The following representatives serve in an ex-officio capacity:

  • Chairs of the DIVERSITAS projects,
  • Representatives from each of the Sponsors,
  • Representative of the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD),
  • Representative of the Intergovernmental science-policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services (IPBES),
  • Representative of the Global Earth Observation Biodiversity Observing Network (GEO BON),
  • Chairs of the global environmental change programmes: Earth System Science Partnership - ESSP, International Human Dimensions Programme on global environmental change - IHDP, International Geosphere-Biosphere programme - IGBP, and World Climate research Programme - WCRP), and
  • The DIVERSITAS Executive Director.


The SC-DIVERSITAS meets once a year. The Executive Committee meets several times per year by teleconference.


Appointed Members

David Cooper

Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity, Canada

Georgina Mace, Chair

University College London, UK

Wolfgang Cramer

Institut Méditerranéen de Biodiversité et d'Ecologie marine et continentale (IMBE), Aix-en-Provence, France


Hiroyuki Matsuda

Yokohama National University, Japan


Sandra Diaz

Universidad Nacional de Córdoba – CONICET, Argentina

Harold Mooney, Past Chair

Stanford University, USA

Elva Escobar

Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico, Mexico

Harini Nagendra

Azim Premji University, India

Carlos Joly

State University of Campinas, Brazil

Belinda Reyers

Council for Scientific and Industrial Research - CSIR, South Africa


Philippe Le Prestre

Université Laval, Canada


Billie Lee Turner

Arizona State University, USA


Mark Lonsdale, Treasurer

CSIRO Ecosystems Sciences, Australia


Ex-officio Members


Past Members

  • Mary Kalin Arroyo, University of Chile, Chile
  • Edward B. Barbier, University of Wyoming, USA
  • Antje Boetius, Max-Planck-Institute for Marine Microbiology, Germany
  • Doris Capistrano (Vice-Chair), Center for International Forestry Research, Indonesia
  • Peter Daszak (Treasurer), EcoHealth Alliance, USA
  • Rodolfo Dirzo (Vice-Chair), Stanford University, USA
  • Andy P. Dobson, Princeton University, USA
  • Michael J. Donoghue (Vice-Chair), Yale University, USA
  • Anantha Duraiappah, International Human Dimension Program, Germany
  • Carlo H. R. Heip, The Netherland Institute of Ecology, The Netherlands
  • Kazuhiro Kogure, University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Michel Loreau (Chair), McGill University, Canada
  • Melodie McGeoch, University of Stellenbosch, South Africa
  • Tohru Nakashizuka (Treasurer), Research Institute for Humanity and Nature, Japan
  • Charles Perrings (Vice-Chair), Arizona State University, USA
  • Robin S. Reid, International Livestock Research Institute, Kenya
  • Eugene Rosa, Washington State University, USA
  • Peter-Johan Schei, The Fridtjof Nansen Institute, Norway
  • Bernhard Schmid, University of Zürich, Switzerland
  • Robert Scholes (Vice-Chair), CSIR – Environmentek, Natural Resources and Environment, South Africa
  • Meryl J. Williams, Australian Center for International Agricultural Research, Australia
  • Yonglong Lu, China-CAST, China
Document Actions
Personal tools