Earth System Science Partnership Diversitas International Geosphere-Biosphere Programme International Human Dimensions Program World Climate Research Program
Diversitas - an international programme of biodiversity science
Search Site Home bioDiscovery ecoServices bioSustainability Contact Us
  Go
Core Projects
Cross-cutting Networks
Other Activities
National Committees
Essp
Getting Involved
Member Zone


 

National Committees
Switzerland

Contact(s)

Top of Page

Dr. Daniela Pauli, Executive Director


Swiss Biodiversity Forum
Swiss Academy of Sciences scnat
Schwarztorstr 9
3007 Bern, Switzerland

Tel: + 41 31 312 02 75
Fax: + 41 31 312 16 78

Email: pauli@scnat.ch

 

Other Members:

Top of Page

 

Prof. Dr. Raphaël Arlettaz

Email: raphael.arlettaz@nat.unibe.ch

Dr. Catherine Lambelet

Email: catherine.lambelet@cjb.ville-ge.ch

Prof. Dr. Claude Auroi

Email: Claude.Auroi@iued.unige.ch

Prof. Dr. Peter Linder

Email: plinder@systbot.unizh.ch

Prof. Dr. Bruno Baur

Email: bruno.baur@unibas.ch

Prof. Dr. Heinz Müller-Schärer

Email: heinz.mueller@unifr.ch

Prof. Dr. Thomas Boller

Email: Thomas.Boller@unibas.ch

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Nentwig

Email: wolfgang.nentwig@zos.unibe.ch

Prof. Dr. Peter Duelli (co-chair Forum)

Email: peter.duelli@wsl.ch

Prof. Dr. Martine Rahier

Email: martine.rahier@unine.ch

Prof. Dr. Peter J. Edwards

Email: peter.edwards@env.ethz.ch

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Schmid

Email: bschmid@uwinst.unizh.ch

Dr. Stefan Eggenberg

Email: eggenberg@unabern.ch

Dr. Irmi Seidl (co-chair Forum)

Email: irmi.seidl@wsl.ch

Dr. Yves Gonseth
Email: yves.gonseth@unine.ch

Dr. Werner Suter

Email: werner.suter@wsl.ch

Prof. Dr. Antoine Guisan

Email: antoine.guisan@unil.ch

Dr. Klement Tockner
Email: klement.tockner@eawag.ch

Dr. Marcel Hunziker

Email: marcel.hunziker@wsl.ch

Dr. Gaby Volkart

Email: g.volkart@ateliernature.ch

Dr. Lukas Jenni

Email: lukas.jenni@vogelwarte.ch

Thomas Walter

Email: thomas.walter@fal.admin.ch

Prof. Dr. Christian Körner

Email: Ch.Koerner@unibas.ch

 

 

Publications:

Top of Page


La biodiversité en Suisse: Etat, sauvegarde, perspectives. Fondements d'une stratégie nationale. (also available in German)
http://www.biodiversity.ch/services/publications/buch.php?lang=fr

Hotspot, the Forum’s biannual journal (available in French and German)
http://www.biodiversity.ch/services/publications/hotspot.php

Visions on biodiversity research in Switzerland
http://www.biodiversity.ch/services/publications/visions.html

Collaborative Research Networks:

Top of Page

Swiss Biodiversity Forum
http://www.biodiversity.ch

Forum for Climate and Global Change (Proclim)
http://www.proclim.ch

The Swiss Academy of Sciences website on Access and Benefit Sharing, good practice for academic research on genetic resources
http://abs.scnat.ch
The purpose is to inform the academic community about the system governing access to biological resources and the fair sharing of benefits that arise from their use, as set out by the Convention on Biological Diversity CBD.

Events

Top of Page


3 November 2006 - Bern


Sur la voie d'une stratégie nationale pour la biodiversité.
More information

27 November 2006 - Lausanne


Anthropogenic effects of catchments alterations on the primary production in peri alpine lakes
More information: http://www.proclim.ch/events?36449

News

Top of Page

On 20 April 2006 the seventh Swiss Global Change Day took place in Bern.
Click here for the Meeting Report

The Swiss Academy of Science in close collaboration with the Swiss Biodiversity Forum has published a brochure and a website on Access & Benefit Sharing, good practice for academic research on genetic resources: http://abs.scnat.ch. The purpose is to inform the academic community about the system governing access to biological resources and the fair sharing of benefits that arise from their use, as set out by the Convention on Biological Diversity CBD. The good practice guide aims at informing researchers on how to correctly apply the Bonn Guidelines when accessing biological resources abroad for research purposes and can be downloaded from: http://abs.scnat.ch/downloads/ABS_Brochure.pdf. The website includes additional features such as a marketplace where scientists are invited to post mutually satisfying research experiences and case studies regarding genetic resources. It also offers updates on current international policy developments, checklists and a download area. The target research community is Switzerland but all information can be used by researchers working elsewhere.

In March, the Swiss Biodiversity Forum submitted a proposal to the Swiss National Research Foundation for the creation of a new research programme on the utilization and value of biodiversity. The proposal's content relates to the science plan of the agroBIODIVERSITY network of DIVERSITAS and kindly received a letter of support from L Jackson, chair of agroBIODIVERSITY.

Regarding the 2010 targets the Swiss Biodiversity Forum has started to mine available national data-bases on biodiversity and is intensively looking for suitable indicators. In addition, the forum continues to lobby for a biodiversity strategy for Switzerland.

Back to National Committees/Contact Points

 

Last updated : 17 November 2006

Privacy Notices

Copyright