National Committee for DIVERSITAS in the USA

The US National Committee (USNC) for DIVERSITAS met for the first time on 22 June 2000 at the National Academy of Sciences in Washington, DC. The USNC:

  • acts as a liaison from the US scientific community to the DIVERSITAS secretariat and scientific committees
  • acts as a communication link between DIVERSITAS and the US
    scientific community, specifically US scientific associations
  • seeks ways of implementing the DIVERSITAS scientific research programme in the United States and encourage international collaboration in biodiversity research.


The US National Committee for DIVERSITAS includes representatives from 6 different disciplinary US National Committees (IUBS, IUMS, IUSS, INQUA, IUPsyS and IUAES), as well as SCOPE, CODATA and IGBP.

Contacts:

Dr. Laura Sheahan
USNC Program Officer
Board on International Scientific Organizations
Policy and Global Affairs
The National Academies, W541
500 Fifth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001, USA
Tel: + 1 202 334 1693
Fax: + 1 202 334 2231
Email: lsheahan@nas.edu

Pamela Gamble
Senior Program Assistant, BISO
National Research Council
500 Fifth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001, USA
Tel: + 1 202 334 2688
Fax: + 1 202 334 2231
Email: pgamble@nas.edu



Chair:

Dr. Donald C. Potts
Institute of Marine Sciences
University of California at Santa Cruz
Earth & Marine Sciences Bldg. A431
Santa Cruz, CA 95064, USA
Tel: +1 831 459 4417
Fax: +1 831 459 4882
Email: potts@biology.ucsc.edu

Members:

Dr. Steven R. Beissinger
University of California - Berkeley
151 Hilgard Hall #3110
Berkeley, CA 94720-3110, USA
Tel: + 1 510 643 3038
Fax: + 1 510 643 3946
Email: beis@nature.berkeley.edu

Dr. Theresa M. Bert
Florida Marine Research Institute
Florida Department of Environmental Protection
100 Eighth Ave., S.E.
St. Petersburg, FL 33701, USA
Tel: + 1 727 896 8626
Fax: + 1 727 823 0166
Email: Theresa.Bert@fwc.state.fl.us

Dr. Carole L. Crumley
University of North Carolina
204-A/B Alumni Bldg.
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3115, USA
Tel: + 1 919 962 5527
Email: crumley@unc.edu

Prof. Andrew P. Dobson
Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Eno Hall
Princeton University
Princeton, NJ 08544-1003, USA
Tel: + 1 609 258 2913
Fax: + 1 609 258 1334
Email: andy@eno.princeton.edu

Dr. Russell W. Graham
Denver Museum of Natural History
2001 Colorado Blvd.
Denver, CO 80205, USA
Tel: +1 303 370 8363
Fax: +1 303 331 6492
Email: rgraham@dmnh.org

Dr. Priscilla C. Grew
Department of Geosciences
University of Nebraska State Museum
301 Bessy Hall
Lincoln, NE 68558 0340, USA
Tel: +1 402 472 7854
Fax: +1 402 472 4917
Email: pgrew1@unl.edu

Dr. Barbara E. John
Department of Geology and Geophysics
University of Wyoming
Laramie, WY 82071, USA
Tel: + 1 307 766 4232
Fax: + 1 307 766 6679
Email: bjohn@uwyo.edu

Dr. Micah I. Krichevsky
Bionomics International
3023 Kramer Street
Wheaton, MD 20902, USA
Tel: + 1 301 942 6316
Fax: +1 603 308 5656
Email: Micahk@bioint.org

Dr. Diana Harrison Wall
Colorado State University
Ft. Collins, CO 80523-1499
Tel: + 1 970 291 1982
Fax: + 1 970 491 3945
Email: diana@nrel.colostate.edu

Ex-Officio

Dr. Harold A. Mooney
Stanford University
Department of Biological Sciences
Stanford, CA 94305
Tel: + 1 650 723 1179
Fax: + 1 650 723 9253
Email: hmooney@jasper.stanford.edu

Dr. Marvalee H. Wake
University of California - Berkeley
Department of Integrative Biology
3060 Valley, Life Sciences Bldg. #3140
Berkeley, CA 94720-3140
Tel: + 1 510 642 4743
Fax: + 1 510 643 6264
Email: mhwake@socrates.berkeley.edu

 

Research Network:

National Biological Informatique Infrastructure (NBII)
http://www.nbii.gov