Other sites

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Home > Activities > Future Earth > Founders


Future Earth is institutionally placed under the Science and Technology Alliance for Global Sustainability, and will build upon the legacy of the 4 global environemental change programmes, DIVERSITAS (international programme on biodiversity science), International Geosphere-Biosphere Programme (IGBP), International Human Dimensions Programme on global environmental change (IHDP), World Climate Research Programme (WCRP), and their Earth System Science Partnership (ESSP).

The Science and Technology Alliance for Global Sustainability comprises the following members:

  • International Council for Science (ICSU)
  • International Social Science Council (ISSC)
  • Belmont Forum (a high level group of major research funders)
  • UN Educational Scientific Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
  • UN Environment Programme (UNEP)
  • UN University (UNU)
  • World Meteorological Organization (WMO) as an observer
Document Actions
Personal tools